Skip to main content

Managing Posts and Comments

Below we'll go over how to delete posts and comments in detail.

Deleting Posts#

Generally speaking, we advise you against deleting users' posts, but instead would guide you to unpublish a user's post. This way, the can still recover their content and take it elsewhere. That said, there are definitely times when deletion is warranted. We'll provide guidance on both how to unpublish and how to fully delete a post below.

Steps to Unpublish and/or Delete a Post#

To unpublish a post, you'll need to:

  1. Ensure that whatever account you're logged into has "trusted user" abilities (i.e. not just "super admin" or "admin" abilities).
  2. Navigate to the article you'd like to delete. To be clear you should be looking at the public-facing article page (i.e. not in admin)
  3. Click on the moderator shield icon in the bottom righthand corner of the screen
  4. Cick the button that says "unpublish article" in red

If you want to fully delete the user's article, follow the steps above and then:

  1. Navigate to the user's dahboard (e.g. jess.forem.lol/dashboard/username)
  2. Click the red "delete" button beside the unpublished post's title

There is no easy way to undelete a post, so please be careful when doing this.

Unpublish all of a User's Posts#

To unpublish all of a user's posts, you'll want to navigate to their admin profile, /admin/users/{id}/edit, and you'll want to scroll down to "Semi-Destructive Actions" and click the button "Unpublish all posts" - this will unpublish all of the user's posts.

Banish a User to Delete All of Their Posts#

Banishing a user will delete all of a user's posts and their account too. This is particularly helpful for getting rid of any spammers that you my come across.

You can learn more about banishing users here (link coming soon).

Deleting Comments#

As a super admin that also has trusted permissions, deleting a comment is quite easy.

Steps to Delete a Comment#

To delete a comment:

  1. Navigate to the comment you'd like to delete. You can either find the comment in the discussion beneath an article or go directly to the comment's unique URL.
  2. Click on the three dots ... menu to the top right of the comment's window.
  3. Click on "Moderate"
  4. Look to the bottom of the page and click "Delete Comment"

There is no easy way to undelete a comment, so please be careful when doing this.